The notification
Your email is not verified, this site functionality will work better if you verify your email
stays permanently after it appears (right after logging-in). As this will appear in the beginning to recent users (beginners), I would push this message to disappear after a while, as other messages do, instead of waiting for it to be closed manually (which they might not know in the beginning).