If I understand well, this means user Alice chooses her theme in her personal space... and after chooses an option "I want to see all groups like this", and since then, she'll see the group theme that away (regardless of the configuration of the group), without affecting any other users.
This can be useful for accessibility (if someone needs a high contrast).